Tianjin(GB)  |  Binhai(GB)  |  TJTV  |  Tianjin Free Trade Zone  | 

About Enorth.com.cn
  |  Chairman & President  |  Web Channels 
Home | News | Photo | Biz Tianjin | Travel in Tianjin | Learn About Tianjin | Talents in Tianjin | Binhai New Area
   

your position :enorth.com.cn > English  content
Tianjin Quanye Bazaar
enorth.com.cn   2009-07-20 10:54

 

Quanye Bazaar is the representative of Tianjin commercial stores. It is situated in the most prosperous district of Tianjin city. It was first built in 1928 in the name of French Bazaar, because the bazaar is situated in the French concession. However, someone said that if the citizens see the name, they are afraid to walk in. Then it was changed into the present name of Quanye Bazaar. In those days, Tianjin Bazaar was called “a city in the city”. We can say that the present arrangements of all department stores are imitated from the Tianjin Bazaar.

At present, the Quanye Bazaar has an large area of 29,600 square meters after nearly one hundred years’ development. The building wears feature of French style, because the designer was a French architect.

Construction began on Tianjin Quanye Bazaar in 1928. After decades, the building maintains its charm and unique grace. It was ranked as a Class A National Protected Architectural structure. Over the years, Tianjin Quanye Bazaar has created a unique way of operating. Because of its location, at the crossing of Heping Road and Binjiang Avenue, two famous pedestrian streets in Tianjin, it is viewed as a symbol of Tianjin’s commercial prosperity. People in Tianjin call it the “No. 1 Store on Gold Street.” People outside of Tianjin believe that if they have not been to Quanye Bazaar, they have not been to Tianjin.

Long History

As a commercial building, the Quanye Bazaar has a relatively long history of department stores. After opened in 1928, the Quanye Bazaar had gained an irreplaceable position in Tianjin People and reached its peak during 1931 to 1939. However, the prosperity didn’t last for more than 10 years, and the war made the bazaar trapped in the edge of shutout. The situation didn’t get better until the establishment of the People’s Republic of China. In 1991, the Tianjin Quanye Bazaar was enlarged again, and now it has become one of the landmarks of Tianjin City.

Stories of the Inscription

On the face of the building, you can see the big brand board of Tianjin Quanye Bazaar. The characters wear an air of steady and vigor, which was written by the famous calligraphist Hua Shikui. Gao Xingqiao, the manager of Quanye Bazaar at that time found him and spent 500 tael to write the five characters, which was a lot of money. At that time, there is not technique of enlarging the characters, so the calligraphist wrote the characters in identical size with what you see on the building. It is said that the Hua Shikui placed three large tables and paved them with papers and wrote the precious characters.

Special Architecture

Because of the French designer, the building has a strong European style. The major part of the building has five stories, with seven stories in the corner. The building is decorated with exquisite carvings and bottle-shaped railings. The inner part of the bazaar is hollow with cloisters, and the two parts of are connected with bridges. The spacious bazaar is not only beautiful in appearance, but also convenient and comfortable in actual using.

Construction began on Tianjin Quanye Bazaar in 1928 and, with Tianxiang Plaza, comprises Tianjin Bazaar, where general merchandise is sold. A French architect originally designed the building, with its strong European style. After decades, the building maintains its charm and unique grace. It was ranked as a Class A National Protected Architectural structure.

Over the years, Tianjin Quanye Bazaar has created a unique way of operating. Because of its location, at the crossing of Heping Road and Binjiang Avenue, two famous pedestrian streets in Tianjin, it is viewed as a symbol of Tianjin’s commercial prosperity. People in Tianjin call it the “No. 1 Store on Gold Street.” People outside of Tianjin believe that if they have not been to Quanye Bazaar, they have not been to Tianjin.


Editor:
 

Most Popular

Binhai heart to Tianjin's plans
Tianjin Tianlian to get 3b yuan injection
Tianjin: promoting the energy saving level through the optimization of structure and the improvement of awareness
Tianjin High-Tech Developmental Park improves independent innovation capacity
Tianjin builds 20 important service projects
Tianjin-Binhai Light Railway makes a breakthrough in passenger flow
Memory of An Jihe, Engineer of Tianjin Tiantie Group
Tianjin Railway Station Rebuilding Project to be finished in late 2007
Tianjin Petrochemical makes all-out to forge a state-level petrochemical base
Tianjin Binhai to attract foreign investment
Tianjin gives priority to the development of public transport
City card is available in Tianjin now
Tianjin Invests 14 Million yuan, Wuqing 180 Thousand Farmers No Longer Drink Fluoric Water
“General Director” Zhang Lili Wants to Build China’s Biggest Free Trade Zone
Tianjin: “Underwater Express” passing through Xidahu Lake

Editor: Zhang Jialu

Copyright (C) 2000-2008 Enorth.com.cn, Tianjin ENORTH NETNEWS Co.,LTD.All rights reserved